Hydrotoys Forums  

Go Back   Hydrotoys Forums > Other > Racing, Camping, Events, or Locations
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-21-2005, 06:32 PM
Administrator
ticking time bomb for a ski

Default Lake Pleasant to Crown King run.

Well,
We ended up doing the annual "Lake Pleasant to Crown King" run last NIGHT starting at 830pm. We arrived at 8pm and air'd down the Goodyears, disconnected the front anti-sway bar, and got all the drinks/food and maps, and flashlights within reach, as well as strapping down any loose stuff. It was around 100deg and clear. The moon was out, near full, and mars was visable as a red star to the horizon. It rose to the middle of the sky and was there all night.

I've never done a night run before, so didn't know what to expect. My co-pilot was a friend from work. He had never done one either. He is a native zoni, but had not even done this run before. There were approx 15 vehicles, various flavors of jeeps and a couple of Toys PUs.

It was dusty as he11 for the first 2-3 miles of Cow Creek Road. Then as we made the turn off onto Crown King road, it cleared up. You immediately had to navigate some easy cracks and washes. It then IMMEDIATELY turned fugly.

The road has undergone dramatic change from the winter rains. Sections were washed out, leaving nothing but boulders and waterfall steps to navigate.

Within the first hour we came to the first obstacle. It has a bypass if necessary. It is a steep climp, with a granite washout at the top, with a 3 foot hole behind the granite, before planing off onto the road. I took the most popular line up the hard road. I cleared the granite obstacle with no issues, but dropped a wheel off into the top hole, and had to retreat a few feet and re-adjust. I climbed right over. We spent a good hour playing there. A couple of open locker guys figured out a good path too.